Winter Wanderings

IMG_1604

Yule has passed and now we are held within the silence of winter.

Last Saturday we took the opportunity to walk amongst the fog and shadows and centre

within the cold, deep quiet of our landscape.

IMG_1605

IMG_1606

I am Old Spider goddess of Micronesia.
I created the moon, the sea, the sky, the sun,
and the earth from a single clamshell.
All the vast and varied universe is present
in the smallest forms of life.
As above, so below.
As within, so without.

Excerpt taken from ‘Goddess Grace’

IMG_1615

IMG_1616

Enchanted meadows

IMG_1617

Noble outstretching

 IMG_1622

Decaying Underground

IMG_1623

As the shadows played against the fog, I looked upon the trees and was moved by their quiet wisdom.  How they have released everything that no longer serves them.  Back to the ground it goes for recycling and renewal.
How they have been left with the absolute necessary, and with that treasure recessed deep into their roots within our Mother Earth.
This season brings to mind the  “four powers of the sphinx”  To Know, To Will, To Dare and To Keep Silent.  In particular, the last of these, Silence.  The attribute of silence has been on my mind recently, especially after having the very unfortunate experience of being forced out of the broom closet by having  my mundane name  disclosed to 6000+  members of my facebook page.
Its not that I don’t like to tell people I’m a witch, most people who know me have probably figured that one out.  Its that I have work, a family, friends and other aspects of my life that  should not be judged by my personal practice.
Most importantly, it should be my choice whether I out myself and no one else has the right to do that.
This then got me to thinking about the lesson of silence, and how those relatively new to the Wheel and who have not done the proper Work and without the proper Guidance can cause great damage to those around them as well as themselves.
So as the Moon of Silence is upon us lets look a little deeper into this power and what it means.
TO KEEP SILENT
Like all the rules of the Sphinx this one has many layers to its meaning.   And ‘To Keep Silent’ has caused more discussions than the other three rules combined.   On an outer level there is the common sense of just keeping your mouth shut.  Such as in my case where someone tried to harm my reputation.   When you keep silence it protects reputations, teachings, intellectual property of your coven, it protects your from social judgements, repercussions and very importantly, protects the work you are doing from the interference of others.
Taking this lesson within, we recognize the need for actual silence within our practice, such as silent reflection, mediation and prayer.  All vital to our path and self knowing.
Silence in its simplicity will affect you in deep and shifting ways.   Like a murky lake that is filled with muddy water during agitation, silence and stillness helps the mud sink to the bottom revealing a clear and luminous nature.
M La Fura )O(

IMG_1624

Categories: The Wheel | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Winter Wanderings

  1. lilithsherbgarden

    Beautifully put sistar. Such a magical foggy morning it was too… The cobwebs drenched in dew were just breathtaking.

  2. An oft forgotten virtue is one of discernment. One might even describe it as an art 🙂

  3. Pingback: wandering in the shadows | johannisthinking

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.