Nearly Samhain

It’s not long until Southern Hemisphere Samhain which will be on April 30. So I’m thinking about things to do with pumpkins, especially since I have these beauties sitting on my kitchen table.
20130418-124538.jpg

The yellow one is my last spaghetti squash from the garden, and the other two were kindly acquired for me by Cath when she went on a trip to an heirloom pumpkin farmer (wouldn’t that be a fun job) in Bacchus Marsh. For no clear reason I seem able to grow squash and zucchini, but not pumpkins?? Oh well, I’ll try again next year.

But lots of people manage to grow pumpkins even if I can’t! And it’s the perfect time if year to do yummy things with them. One of my favourites is this recipe for Pumpkin Jam, from Sally Wise’s book A Year in a Bottle – a really handy book for anyone who likes making their own preserves, I highly recommend it!

Pumpkin Jam
1kg diced deep orange pumpkin
Water
Zest & juice of 2 lemons
1kg sugar

Cook pumpkin in a little water until very soft. Drain, then mash until smooth. Add the lemon zest and juice and sugar. Bring to the boil slowly, stirring until sugar is dissolved. Continue to cook for 20 minutes or until thick.

Spoon into sterilised jars and cap tightly. Store in the fridge once opened. Makes about 1.5kg.

There’s no pectin in pumpkins obviously, so it’s not exactly a jammy texture, but it spreads very nicely and us great on toast or with scones and cream (and a pot of tea, of course).

Blessings )O(
Verity

Categories: The Wheel | Tags: , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Nearly Samhain

  1. This is my favourite jam! Actually, the entire household LOVES Verity’s jams ๐Ÿ™‚

    • lilithsherbgarden

      Seeing as I am constantly making more you are welcome to as much as you can consume ๐Ÿ™‚ marmalade coming up in a couple of months too!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

